Quality vs Quantity

Hello everyone,

I’m going to be honest about something that I’ve been thinking about for a while, especially over the last few weeks. Those real estate signs I posted a few days ago? I don’t like them very much.

I’ve produced way better work, and I’m capable of more than that. I remember making them late on Tuesday night, burnt out and uninspired. Maintaining my goal of 1 project per week is very important to me, but I feel as though lately I am losing my grasp on why I set out to do this in the first place.

I want to practice, and I want to get better. I want to produce work that reflects my skill, maybe even contribute to my portfolio! Some weeks I feel like I did really well. Other weeks, I fell short. Last week was one of them. I don’t want to compromise quality for quantity. It doesn’t paint an accurate picture of what I can offer and produce. So I’ve been thinking back to the beginning of the year, and how I can solve this problem.

When I first envisioned this blog, I saw it as an opportunity to showcase not only the work that I do, but how I do the work. The process, the rough drafts, all of it! The process is everything, it showcases the thought and effort behind every design decision, and gives meaning to otherwise careless shapes on a screen. I want to put that amount of care into every project I do, big or small, short-term or long-term.

So! I have an idea! There are a lot of projects I’ve been dying to work on, but haven’t had the time to squeeze them into a week. What I am going to do instead, is take 2 or even 3 weeks for certain projects (ones that call for that amount of time) and update my progress as I go. I’ll still post every week – my updates as well as my design process – only this time I will be able to offer better quality productions. I promise, this isn’t me trying to get out of working hard, or back-pedaling out of my goal. I really want to improve myself, and I believe this is the best way to do it. So wish me luck!

Cheers,

Kat

Leave a Reply

