Wedding Stationary inspired by Battle Star Galactica

You guy’s should know up front, I am a huge geek.

I recently finished the sci-fi series “Battle Star Galactica”. Holy cow, it was fantastic. I don’t know how I missed the series while it was on air, but being able to binge watch it over the last half year or so has been pretty awesome, so maybe it was for the best!

I felt super inspired by the show and the characters, so I thought I would kick off the new year by banging out some Galactica inspired wedding stationary for my favourite power couple in the show.

Featured in the package is a Save the Date, Invitation, RSVP,  Menu, Table Number, and Bride & Groom Seating Cards.

The design was inspired by the beauty of deep space. The corners are darkened and textured to reference the show, as all of the paper aboard the Battle Star had been styled to have the corners removed, creating shapes like the example below.

battlestar
The corners being removed was apparently a reference from the director of the show to illustrate how they had to “cut corners” financially to make the show possible. What may have only been intended as an inside joke definitely left a memorable statement!

I don’t know how many Brides and Grooms would be keen on having the corners removed completely from their stationary (and I can only imagine how much it would cost!) but I definitely wanted to reference the style, and it really added an extra layer of character to the designs!

Starbuck, Apollo, I hope you would be happy with these!

Leave a Reply

